Suggestion: Thread Discipline

@Patriot and friends

I’ve got a suggestion.

There have been a lot of great new threads lately but I’ve noticed that many of them have been similar in topic and theme. I think it would be helpful to start grouping them in some way. If it’s a thread related to the ACA repeal, why not just create one large thread for it? That way it would be easy for others who may not be familiar with the topic to get up to speed and discuss. Right now so many new threads get created that it’s hard to keep track of topics that are similar but require more research. I’m not a forum expert so I defer to @Patriot on the how-to or if what I am asking for is even worth it.

What does everyone think?

• Keep similar threads separate
  • Group similar threads together into one thread

0 voters

Thanks for the recommendation @Millington

Creating a mega thread and merging older threads is easy for me to do administratively. I’m not necessarily opposed to creating mega threads, but I want to be sure that others will find this approach useful. Personally, I prefer mega threads because our software automatically remembers where each user left off on each thread they have read. If a user is making their way through the thread and takes a break for a few hours or a few weeks, they can pick up right where they left off. This makes mega threads manageable.