Veterans Day

To all of my fellow veterans,

Today is 11 NOV 16 - the anniversary of the signing of the armistice, which ended the World War I hostilities between the Allied nations and Germany in 1918.

Thank you for your service, not just today but everyday. Please feel free to share your service history with us.

I’ll go first for this Veterans Day roll call:

I served in the USAF for a decade and another five years after that in the Air National Guard and Air Force Reserve. I’m an Operation Enduring Freedom veteran and served before, during, and after 9/11 domestically and abroad.

Thank you for your service.

I also did 10 years/6 year program.

Spent a lot of time in the C130 before graduating to the C141.

And you for yours.

Small world @LouMan. The C-141 was my first bird. Great aircraft. Sadly, I also retired the 141 out of McGuire Air Force Base to make way for the C-17. I also worked the KC-135, KC-10, and C-5 which ended up being my personal favorite. I’m still a C-5 nut to this day and I think the biggest mistake the Air Force ever made was retiring it. I know it was a big expensive beast but it was an engineering masterpiece.

Loved the 130. The aircraft had magnificent engines and was a simple but effective aircraft. Empty the thing could do amazing short takeoffs and landings. Even loaded it’s max effort T/O and landings were amazing.
Guess that’s why so many are still flying today.
Much like you with the C5.

The 141 was a a great aircraft not as much fun and sadly my last.

Did my time in various places, Yokata, Pope, Hickham, the lovely Arkansas as well a time in Fla. TDY in to many places to mention.